Public Works

The Public Works Department is in charge of all the public facilities in Medina. The public works crew also takes care of city roads, parks, sanitary and storm sewers, as well as the water utility.

Public Works Staff

Steve Scherer, Public Works Director – steve.scherer@medinamn.gov
Ivan Dingmann, Foreman – ivan.dingmann@medinamn.gov
Greg Leuer, Water and Sewer Operator – greg.leuer@medinamn.gov
Derek Reinking, Maintenance Worker – derek.reinking@medinamn.gov
Jack Gleason, Field Inspector – jack.gleason@medinamn.gov
Joe Ende, Maintenance Worker – joe.ende@medinamn.gov
Linda Lane, Administrative Assistant – linda.lane@medinamn.gov

Public Works Information

Spring Road Restrictions

Each spring, the majority of City roads are restricted to a four-ton axle weight limit, which eliminates most truck traffic on City roads. It is important to plan ahead if truck deliveries are needed. Weight restrictions are usually in effect early spring through May 15, but the determination will come as the weather conditions improve. These restrictions are necessary to prevent damage to the roads when the frost comes out and road sub-bases are saturated with water.

Composting and Brush Piles

The public works department offers a composting facility at the shop building located northwest of City Hall.  Leaves, grass clippings, and brush are all welcome. Please follow the posted signs as to where to put what you bring in. Remember no bags or containers are to be left on the site. Please, do not trash this site by leaving garbage or other unsuitable materials. Residents may drop off brush or compost Tuesday through Thursday from 7 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. (except holidays) and Friday 7 a.m. to Monday 3:30 p.m. (open all weekend during daylight hours).

Watch for signs of infestation in your ash trees

If you suspect your ash tree could be infested by EAB, visit www.mda.state.mn.us/invasives/eab and use the “Do I Have Emerald Ash Borer?” checklist.

Snow Plow & Ice Control Policy

The City adopted the attached Snow Plowing and Ice Control Policy to define and provide reasonable snow plowing and ice control services on City roads for routine travel and emergency services and to provide such services in a safe and cost effective manner while balancing personnel resources and environmental concerns.

Winter Parking

City Code 340.05 prohibits parking on any public street from November 1st through March 31st during the hours of 1:00 a.m. – 6:00 a.m. If at all possible, the City plow crew would appreciate having no vehicles parked on City streets when snowfall occurs during the daytime to allow for better plowing services down your streets.